Stuffed Gould.

Thursday 5th July 2012

I’d like to start by saying that it wasn’t my fault!

I pulled this meal together with some bits that were left over in the fridge. A handful of basmati rice that had been in there since Saturday. Some fried white cabbage with onion & bacon that we ate with a fish supper on Sunday. The pork mince came from the freezer & ok, I did leave it on the kitchen top for a couple of hours to finish thawing, but it was wrapped & it smelt good. And finally, the brie which had been ripening nicely for the past month.

I was really pleased with myself for being able to pull a well balanced meal together without having to work too hard for it so I was rather deflated when my son, Zephyrus, brought the whole lot up about 30 minutes after it had gone down.

My wife & I hadn’t eaten ours as we weren’t hungry after a big lunch, so obviously my first thoughts turned to my thrifty choices of ingredients.

I’ve always been super aware that something should be in date & smell right, that is up until a few years ago when I realise that a yoghurt is more likely to survive a nuclear attack than I am & that being one day out of date doesn’t necessarily make food inedible.

Here in Spain, there has been a significant increase in the amount of people rummaging through the supermarket waste in search of food. It used to be the squatters who were waist deep in the plastic bins fishing out the out-of-date produce but more often than not, now you can see pensioners getting in on the action. It’s not unusual for a bounty to contain bottles of beers, legs of meat, bread, cakes & I’ve even seen packs of bottled water being liberated from the containers.

My limited understanding of the matter is simple; there is no shame in recycling, only in waste. But it’s one thing to see fit, young, healthy kids choosing a lifestyle that involves living in abandoned properties & scavenging through bins for whatever treasures they can find, to seeing old people doing it out of necessity. I guess this is one of the many indications that we are indeed, in a world recession.

But I digress.

Anyway, the boy made it through the night & woke up as hungry as a horse the next day. A day off school & some TLC seemed to raise his spirits. I tentatively ate my stuffed gould for lunch the next day & it was delicious.

So you see, it wasn’t my fault!

20120705-104650 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Dinner, Pork, Rice and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stuffed Gould.

  1. Stef says:

    It breaks my heart to see people scavenging for truly basic necessities like food. I also try to buy only what I know I can consume by the “use by” date – but I have also been known to consume a food 1-2 days past its “prime”. Not too much more than that, though; I want to stay healthy, too. 🙂

  2. roger edwards says:

    im with you jon.we didnt hVE FRIDGES UNTIL THE LATE 50’S SO I CANT SEE FOOD GOING INEDIBLE AFTER A FEW DAY. ANIMALS SEEM TO THRIVE ON IT

  3. rutheh says:

    I need to clean out my fridge! Just back after a month away with the family.
    Thanks for the inspiration.
    And thanks for the like and comments on the blog, too.
    Cheers,
    Ruth in Pittsburgh

Leave a Reply

